Christmas in NYC

If I had to choose one city to spend every Christmas for the rest of my life, it’s without a doubt New York City! It’s a great place to visit all year around but something changes right after Macy’s Thanksgiving parade. Even if you are the Grinch himself, it’s impossible not to get into the Christmas spirit! Picola Italia looks like a Christmas card with displays of the Holy family and every place is decorated better than the previous one. Try some authentic Panettone paired up with delicious imported red wine or sit down and have some real pizza while listening to Christmas canzoni, often performed by the staff and owners.

The New York Public Library

 Central Park entrance
Proceed pass the crowds on 42-nd street and head down to my other favorite place- Central Park. The $80 horse carriage ride is actually worth it, especially after dark when all the lights come on. Sipping on rum and tea while the snow is falling will make you understand what Alicia Keys means by “These lights will inspire you”. I love taking walks around the Upper East Side, swinging by Bloomingdale’s and enjoying what I call “the urban runway”  there is so much high-fashion on the streets of the city! You simply must go ice-skating in front of the Rockefeller Center!  If it’s your first time visiting, you should visit the Empire State Building observation tower but be sure to buy your tickets in advance.


I have visited most of NYC’s land marks one time or another. My favorite thing still remains getting lost within the city; pick a random street, follow it for a while, take a turn if you’d like and just enjoy the walk. I have two routines whenever I visit the City: always eat a breakfast bagel from a different place and a brunch in Hard Rock Café on Times Square.

The last one being one of the few spots in the world where shopping crowds excite me for some odd reason, I’d say that is the pure magic of NYC. Below are some personal pics from my trip for Christmas 2012. I decided to do this flashback as a Christmas gift to my readers who only follow my traveling entries. As I have mentioned in the past, the point of my blog is to share my experiences with all of you, past and present ones.

 

Happy Holidays, Silvia Mèlange

IMG_0292

 

Jazzed up Christmas songs on the subway

 

Hard Rock Café


 

Leave a Reply

