10 restaurants to visit in NYC

  1. Pongsri Thai Restaurant

Delicious food at some of the cheapest prices in Manhattan!  The staff is quick and very helpful. All the soups are amazing and served at the right temperature and I fell in love with the pad Thai. It’s one of the spots I visit every time I’m in the City.

 

  1. Mehanata- The Bulgarian Bar

Of course I found the hottest place in lower Manhattan  ;] The place to be for all Eastern-Europeans, Russians and curious Americans. They serve authentic Bulgarian food, imported beers and other goodies. Fridays and Saturdays after 11pm the place turns into a club with lots of alcohol and dancing! If you are lucky and the ice bar is open so you will get the chance to drink a shot of real vodka while dressed in a Russian coat, surrounded by ice.

 

  1. Angelo’s pizza Little Italy

Mind blowing coal-fire pizzas! They come out so quick; it’s the perfect place for a pit-stop if you simply can’t wait to explore more. The salads are always fresh and the wine list is consistent mainly of imports. It’s affordable, with cozy family atmosphere and decent prices.

 

  1. Karizma lounge

I always explore hookah bars and restaurants when I visit different cities. I loved the oriental atmosphere and the hookahs were delicious! They serve traditional middle-eastern dishes and Turkish coffee. The staff is great and the prices are reasonable.

 

  1. El Toro Blanco- Mexican (West village)

Authentic Mexican dishes cooked to gourmet level! Add a long list of imported tequilas and mixed drinks and I’m sold! Their fresh guacamole and the tacos Al Pastor  were magical and I hope I discover their recipe one day! They have a salsa bar that has a wide variety of dips all of which are worth trying. The service was great and I will definitely visit again!

 

  1. Candle 79 Vegan-Vegetarian

Melt-in-your-mouth-amazing vegan and vegetarian dishes. Fresh organic produce and great service make this little spot one of my favorites! Stylish atmosphere and affordable prices be sure to check it out! It’s a refreshing restaurant in the land of fried chicken or beef on the go.

 

  1. Emmett O’Lunney’s -Irish Pub

With so many awesome pubs around NYC, it’s really hard to decide which one is the best.  That’s until you discover O’Lunney’s! Upscale yet authentic Irish Pub! The service is great, the bartenders are some of the best I’ve ever seen and the food is to-die -for mix between American and Irish dishes. They have live bands on Fridays and it’s perfect for late night or in the middle of the night dinners and fun nights with friends.

 

  1. Hard Rock Café Times Square, NYC

It’s a ritual of mine to visit Hard Rock in every city I visit that has one! Another ritual is to have brunch in the New York one every time I visit. The drinks and service are on point and the food is in a way typical American. It’s the displays that I’m never tired of seeing. The Beatles suits, guitars and posters alongside Elvis Presley and many other music legends. It’s one of these things you have to experience for yourself.

 

  1. Maze by Gordon Ramsey

I made a reservation two weeks in advance, guys! I’m a huge fan of Gordon Ramsey and I was ecstatic to go! I can describe my experience with two words: Pure Perfection. It’s a very classy place with small sophisticated portions of heavenly food. I can’t say it’s pricey because this is Gordon Ramsey in New York City after all. Just check out the menu and decide for yourself before you reserve a table.

 

1.The Russian Tea Room

The décor of this place!!!!!  Very 1920’s Russia style which is the first reason I fell in love with it! Make sure you make a reservation (weeks in advance is a good idea) and dress up; you never know when you might run into Serena van der Woodsen! The Red Borscht soup is a must, especially if you are visiting in the winter. I also tried the black Bass entree and the Kulebiaka dish. For desert I’d recommend the Czar’s gold and caviar parfait. I think my third tradition while in NYC will be visiting this place!

 

 

I’m sure there’s plenty I missed but I’ll be visiting the Big Apple again soon so feel free to let me know in the comments what places would you recommend!

Xo, Silvia Mélange

Leave a Reply

